Wilco Releases Surprise Album “Star Wars” as Free Download


Photo by Dan Garcia
Photo by Dan Garcia/The Early Registration

Taking note from Beyonce and all the rappers in the music world, Chicago’s own, Wilco, has released a new surprise studio album. The 11-track project is titled Star Wars and is available for free download for the next 30 days. “Why release an album this way and why make it free? Well, the biggest reason, and I’m not sure we even need any others, is that it felt like it would be fun,” said Wilco frontman, Jeff Tweedy. “What’s more fun than a surprise?” Tweedy continued. Although Star Wars’ free download will only remain until August 13th, the project will be available for purchase on CD on August 21 and vinyl on November 27. Pre-order of the physical release is available now on wilcoworld.net.

Check out the cover art and tracklist for Star Wars below and download the entire project here.

Star Wars Track Listing
1. EKG
2. More…
3. Random Name Generator
4. The Joke Explained
5. You Satellite
6. Taste the Ceiling
7. Pickled Ginger
8. Where Do I Begin
9. Cold Slope
10. King Of You
11. Magnetized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.